Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking to buy a road bike sometime in the next few months, and I am wondering what people think is the best LBS in the city? I am a relative beginner, but hoping to be ready for a mid-range bike by the fall.

I am looking for a shop that has a good selection and decent deals. Will give good support after the purchase. And most importantly is knowledgeable, and will take the time to help me find the best bike, and get the best fit?

I've had a pretty good experience so far with Gotham bikes. I've been by R&A Cycles, and am impressed with their selection, but don't have an opinion on their service.

Any advice on places I should check out or avoid.

Thanks

·
Registered
5 Posts
Most of the shops in "Manhattan" are poor on service, especially "after the sale". I've been to them all, literally every-one. If I had to pick one it would probably be Conrads as well, just because, if you have the money to spend, they fit you and serve you after. Bicycle Habitat use to be a descent shop, until they became so popular.

As far as the outer-boroughs, which I still consider "L"ocal, since it's still in nyc and easily accessible by cycle, masstransit, walking etc...I've also been to all the Brooklyn shops and about 90% of the Queens shops. Bay Ridge Bicycles is descent, great selection of mostly USA brands and heavy on MTB bikes. Their mechanic's are somewhat messy, but I still sometimes shop here for the selection (ask to see the basement for some great end/last season deals). I do my regular shopping at Spin City cycles on Queens Boulevard, limited selection, descent mechanic...but the owner and current sales staff are great people. Just be able to say no, since they also tend to sell you what they have in stock, like most NYC shops.

Can't comment on Bronx or S.I.

·
You got any chocolate?
94 Posts