Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking at doing a custom build soon and I'm struggling to figure out how to choose a groupset. I want to buy new (no take-offs) and keep it under $1K (w/ shipping to USA). So far I've found I can get Shimano Ultegra for around $840, Campagnolo Athena for $810, and SRAM Rival for under $890. I figure I could also do a Microshift Arsis frankengroup for around $800, but can't come up with a good reason why.

I'm relatively new to cycling and I have no experience with brands other than SRAM, and no good way to get it (since I'm not shopping for a complete bike at an LBS). I have Rival on my CX bike and I'm pretty happy with how quickly it shifts, though the double tap does trip me up on occasion (I'll do an upshift instead of a downshift). Recommendations (with rationale) would be greatly appreciated :)

·
Cranky Old Bastard
2,337 Posts
So far I've found I can get Shimano Ultegra for around $840, Campagnolo Athena for $810, and SRAM Rival for under $890. I figure I could also do a Microshift Arsis frankengroup for around $800, but can't come up with a good reason why.
I have Rival on my CX bike and I'm pretty happy with how quickly it shifts, though the double tap does trip me up on occasion (I'll do an upshift instead of a downshift). Recommendations (with rationale) would be greatly appreciated :)
Since all four companies use different shift levers/buttons it makes sense to me to stay with what you're used to and go with Sram...unless you're unhappy enough with the double-tap to want to switch the CX system down the road.
I'm older and don't want different shifting on different bikes. Muscle memory in a panic situation type of thing.

Otherwise they are all comparable quality. None of them have any known faults or problems that you need to stay away from.