Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What is the best state to move to for a full time professional cyclist? I've been told that Colorado near Boulder is fantastic and has a diverse topography that would be perfect for a professional athlete. Arizona has also seemed to be a great area for training, with it's mild winter temperatures and diverse desert landscape. Can anyone here give some input or personal experiences about either states? Can any residents of Colorado or Arizona on this forum provide some insight or advice?

·
Registered
460 Posts
I'll bite. While I'm not a professional cyclist, I have been pleasantly surprised at the great cycling around Billings, MT. There is a lot of wide open space and plenty of variety. The only drawback is that the real mountains are about 90 min drive away, but then this is a 4K+ foot solid climb to above 10K feet. There are plenty of country roads around town where you can put together loops with plenty of climbing in them, or if you want to concentrate on flat routes, those are available as well. The weather is mild to boot (for Montana, at least). We get a few good snows each year, but then the roads dry out after a few days. One can ride year round as long as you dress appropriately. I'm sure there are better places elsewhere, but for those of us who live in Billings, we have it surprisingly good here.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Hey Big Tex.
I used to wrench for pro roadies, and was a pro bmxer. Colorado is great!!!!, no questions about it. Boulder is ausome with a great diversity. I live in gunnison, CO. kinda out of the way but the mtn biking is epic. Tuscon, AZ is great to train in. I used to summer their for bmxing, and did a lot of road biking.

·
Registered
481 Posts
I lived in both places for over 4 years

bigtex said: