Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought a bike this past summer, my first roadbike. Its a Fuji Finest (last years model, not the new numbered gizmos) and am looking to upgrade parts. I really don't want to buy a new bike, as I'm a college student with no real disposable income and can't afford what I really want, but just came into about 300$ of cash that i want nothing more than to blow on my bike. and don't want to bother with an intermediate stop in between at a mid-range bike. I was wondering what you guys all thought was the single best upgrade to make, whether it be a new wheelset, grouping, CF fork, etc...Thanks. I'm just looking for that little upgrade that'll help me as I get faster, i'm no racer but I've been working my tail off in group rides trying to get better as i go and hope to participate in some races in the late summer. Everything on my bike is stock, and yes, I know its all low end, thats why i could afford it.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
whoops, yes i got shoes/pedals, thats the one thing i made sure was not stock from the start, i had a friend who told me to make sure no clips. And i would definitely look to port things over in time, when I can afford a bike I really desire.

·
Registered
467 Posts
It will help to know what group is on your bike,what wheels etc.

Honestly,it isn't going to make you "faster".I have a buddy that is a broke college kid who rides an entry level Trek.The wheels and the drivetrain are all low end stuff.He has NO trouble at all keeping up with the fastest ride we have here locally and he races on this bike.

If you want nicer stuff,that is completely understandable.However,you probably won't see noticable performance gains assuming you are comfortable on your bike and it doesn't have any mech. problems.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·