Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm looking to "stimulate" the economy and upgrade my Shimano 550's. I've been riding for a few years now and want to get into racing, but I don't have a lot to throw at parts.

So far I've looked into the 2007 Ksyrium SL, which can be found for around $600 online, and the upstart Rol D'Huez which people seem to be raving about. The Rol Wheels look to be lighter, but the Ksyriums must be popular for a reason.

I'm 5'11", 150lbs and fancy myself a climber. Which way should I go, or are there any other options I should look into?

·
Registered
507 Posts
I just got some Rol Race SL's and they are really nice. They have a 30mm rim; the alpe d'huez has about a 27mm. They're about $600.00, a little cheaper than the alpe.

·
Banned
2,243 Posts
The best would be a set built up by Ligero, Ergott, rruff, or your custom wheel builder of choice. You'll get a lot more for your money that way, as opposed to buying a pre-built wheel.

·
Registered
2,620 Posts
For some reason lots of my friends think the XERO wheels from Pricepoint ($259 including shipping) are the best bang for the buck. They are lightweight and have held up well for several of them.

That's way less than $800.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I looked into the Williams 19, but I'm skeptical about a 19mm rim--though they're interesting nonetheless. I'm not opposed to paying up to $800, so something as low as $300 might not be as performance oriented as I'd like...

·
Registered
2,124 Posts
Chris King Website said:
complete wheelsets will be available from Chris King soon. Every wheelset will be precision built in Portland, Oregon and shipped ready to roll out of the box. Premium brand rims and spokes matched with King’s renowned sealed bearing pink hubs will be available for a variety of riding styles. All wheelsets feature 32-hole, 3-cross lacing with brass nipples. $700