Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I'm a beginner looking forward to getting into road-biking, and am trying to decide between the 2008 Bianchi Via Nirone 7 Alu/Car Tiagra(http://www.jensonusa.com/store/product/BI298C14-Bianchi+Via+Nirone7+Carbon+Tiagra+Bike08.aspx), and the 2008 Bianchi Axis Lx Tiagra Cyclocross bike(http://www.jensonusa.com/store/product/BI298C36-Bianchi+Axis+Lxtiagra+Cyclocross+Bike08.aspx). Both bikes are available at jensonUSA for around $900.
What is the weight difference between the two bikes? Is the Axis almost as fast as the Via Nirone? I dont plan to race, but would like to go up to about 20 mile rides, and possibly ride with groups. I would like a comfortable(slightly upright ride).
I would also be doing some paved bikepaths and light cruising with my wife.
Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
21 Posts
I have a Via Nirone 7 Alu/Carbon with Ultegra/105 and am about to pull the trigger on a BIanchi Volpe for commuting (similar to the Axis, but with a steel frame). The difference between the Axis and the Via Nirone is mostly in the utility of the bikes. The Via Nirone is a road bike. It has slick tires on it, it's designed for riding on the roads. The Axis is a cyclocross-style bike, with slightly wider tires and able to do both road riding and a bit of off-road riding (dirt paths & hopping over curbs).

I love my Via Nirone, it is a great bike for doing long distances. I often ride between 20 and 30 miles and it's just an incredible bike. But if you want something that might work better for a little bit of off the road or hopping curbs riding or even a "do everything" kind of bike - the Axis would likely be a better choice. You can put slick tires on the Axis and have it as a road bike.

Hope this helps. They're both great bikes!

·
Registered
2 Posts
old thread, but I have a question: