Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
had it in the ear before
14,158 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok so I am a newbie roadie mtn bike crossover fella and have a question about the bibs. It seems most of the serious racers wear them and I am curious to what the benefits of them are besides the obvious keeping your shorts up. I know they look ultrasexy w/out a jersey and letting the chesthair wave in the wind but really what's the draw to the bibs, I might get a pair as I was in the market for some new shorts but maybe bibs are the way to go?

·
gastarbeiter
1,524 Posts
i guess you weren't a very serious mtn biker.

try the bibs. shorts are for Freds. ;)

gutfiddle said:
ok so I am a newbie roadie mtn bike crossover fella and have a question about the bibs. It seems most of the serious racers wear them and I am curious to what the benefits of them are besides the obvious keeping your shorts up. I know they look ultrasexy w/out a jersey and letting the chesthair wave in the wind but really what's the draw to the bibs, I might get a pair as I was in the market for some new shorts but maybe bibs are the way to go?

·
Bacon!
9,193 Posts
Do a search. There are hundreds of arguements in the forums on this.

#1 Recommendation: Buy a pair of Volers and see what you think.

#1 Reason for bibs - saves the world from possible but crack viewage.

·
Registered
2,643 Posts
Bibs normalize variances I can't control as well as I should.

When I'm in shape my legs are big for my waist and shorts slide down. When I'm out of shape shorts roll down as my gut flops over the top. Bibs don't do either.

·
Registered
137 Posts
gutfiddle said:
I like 'em because they don't dig into my stomach since they don't have a waistband. Much more comfy, in my opinion. On the other hand, it's a pain in the ass to have to take off your jersey to use a porta-john.

·
had it in the ear before
14,158 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·