Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1,469 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello

I am looking for recommendations for (saloon/sedan/hatchback) car roof-based road/racing bicycle carriers. It needs to be super reliable (I have a carbon Trek Madone 5.9) and easy and quick to install/remove the bike.

Brands, models, traps for new players, etc all welcome. Or am I better with a tow-bar based carrier instead?

thanks in advance

·
jaded bitter joy crusher
19,723 Posts
I'm no expert, but I look at it this way: if the bike's on the roof, road debris will be hitting it at over 50 mph. If the bike is in back of the car, the car is shielding it from debris impact as well as garage doors and low-hanging branches and wires.

·
Could be faster
282 Posts
Fredke said:
I'm no expert, but I look at it this way: if the bike's on the roof, road debris will be hitting it at over 50 mph. If the bike is in back of the car, the car is shielding it from debris impact as well as garage doors and low-hanging branches and wires.
ever noticed that the after a long journey, the roof of the car is cleaner than the rear window? and especially for wagons/hatch/liftbacks, the tailgate is just absolutely grotty compared to the roof?

·
Registered
151 Posts
Fredke said:
I'd rather strap my kids to the roof than my bike. They're much easier to clean off than my drivetrain! :(

I don't have any model recs unfortunately as I always put it in my Subaru Outback, the principle reason for it's purchase being for toting my bike around. When I see bikes on car racks in the rain, I just cringe.

·
Registered
126 Posts
Fredke said:
I've used a roof rack for over 10 years and traveled thousands of miles with bikes on top and the biggest danger is driving under a low overhang or into a garage. It's never happened to me. The bikes stay clean enough on a roof rack, they get dirtier when you ride them than they do on the trip.