Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
thought I would introduce myself- I'm Matt and I have been cycling for over 20 years. Up till now I have been lurking around this site for a number of years.

Anyway, I wanted to know if anyone else is dissapointed in overall bike quality. I have bought two bikes over the past 3 years (both new). One mountain and one road. Both bikes had to be taken back to the shop to have repairs done under warranty. The MTB for the fork and the road for various squeeks, rattles and a rear wheel that keeps going out of wack. The MTB is a Cannondale and the Road is a Trek. Therefore, I have to think it is not the brand because the components that needed fixing were neither cannondale or trek specific.

What is everyone else's experience? How come when I bought my Toyota and Honda I have never had a warranty repair and both are a little more complex than my bike. What will happen when Di2 takes off?

·
RoadBikeRider
907 Posts
In my opinion the manufacturers are more concerned about being cutting edge/hi tech/light weight than they are concerned about reliability. And...it is almost impossible to find old parts that work on new bikes.

·
Registered
78 Posts
I bought a Trek 1600 in 2007 no squeaks or rattles wheels did go out of true, but were replaced with Neuvation R28SL3 and has been perfect since.

·
Banned forever.....or not
24,426 Posts
I haven't bought a complete bike off the shelf since I got my Stumpjumper in the late 90's. All the rest were frames and parts and traditional wheels. Never had a problem with those.

·
Registered
2,409 Posts
Most people who assemble bikes at a shop are under 20 and only do it for a year or two. Thats the nice thing about higher end shops, the people who work there are often a touch more experienced.

·
Registered
323 Posts
kbiker3111 said: