Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
... well I am relatively new to road cycling, I have an '05 Giant TCR Limited Comp. It is all stock so far and that is where the question lies. I have a 12-26 rear and have read on here that that is ok..... the front is my issue. It is a 36/50; can I get a larger ring and get a significant speed difference??

·
Registered
11,555 Posts
End of the compact fad.

Give this man a cigar! First post about upgrading from a stock compact to a larger rings!

To answer your question - no. Bicycle speed is almost entirely determined by the strength and fitness of the person propelling it. Unless you consistently find that riding in a 50 x 12 is "too easy" or makes you "spin out", stick with the 36/50 compact crank.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks...... I usually don't spin out untill decents. I carry about 19-24 mph on the flats, but when I am going downhill I am struggling to hit 40, so naturaly I thought with larger rings would come more speed...... like I said I am relatively new to road cycling so I have a lonnnnggg way to go conditioning wise.

·
Banned forever.....or not
24,573 Posts
What need do you have to go over 40 mph on the down hills? If the hill is steep enough for you to hit 40 mph, you should be able to coast and still hit 50 or more if you get aero.
Ps. an 11 will get you the same gear as if you had a 53X12.

·
naranjito
785 Posts