Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Everyone -
I'm new to the Bike Forum and would love some advice on purchasing a new frame. I rode an Orbea Orca for about 1.5 years and generally enjoyed it, although it was my first light carbon frame. After the frame cracked, I got a bit frustrated with Orbea and have decided to go with a new bike.

I'm an aggressive recreational rider, on the bike around 150-200miles a week in season, and thinking about doing some racing. Looking for a zippy frame that is quick and responsive, but also solid/comfortable over a century. Probably carbon or maybe titanium with a price tag under $4,000 for frame and fork.

Definitely open to recommendations, but three that I've been looking at specifically are the Colnago C50 or CLX, the DeRosa Idol, and the Wilier Le Roi. (also looked at Parlee & Look)

Any sharing of experiences or advice would be much appreciated.

·
Reality Star
893 Posts
Check this out. Similar to the frames sold by De Rosa, Colnago and Wilier, but with more cache. I have seen the frame available for under $3000. Read the thread and think about it.

http://forums.roadbikereview.com/showthread.php?t=167037

My new Cinelli build
My new baby in Tuttarossa Red, Record 11, 3T Ergonova Bars and ARX Team Stem, Selle Italia SLC saddle, Look Carbon pedals, HED Ardennes wheels.

This is my dream bike and it rides like a dream.
Attached Images

·
Registered
324 Posts
A Colnago Extreme Power would be perfect - and at the current prices in the US, well within your price range. The CX-1/CLX has had some good reviews but to me, if you're gonna buy a Colnago, just get an Italian one...

A c50 is a great ride - particularly for long rides but you might miss the stiffness... I'm on an EPS and love it.

Best thing about Colnago's is the available size range. Easy to get a great fit.