Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
1,964 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I searched the archive and didn't see any old threads on this so if there were, sorry;

As an outdoor writer I get to do some pretty darn fun things and call it work. This latest is that a triathlete/bike shop employee/bike fitter/friend is really good at buying and selling parts on eBay.

I've wanted a titanium bike as sort of a cerebration of being cancer free after a year (June 22). But I can't afford the whole sticker at the moment due to unforeseen expenses on top of foreseen ones, including a used Stumpjumper I bought earlier this year. Another friend who babies his bikes is selling is LaMond ti frame in pristine condition. My eBay friend was about to put it up for auction when I found out about it.

I bought it and then met with him to discuss what to do next. I expected to pay a lot to get new parts. But my buddy said, Hey, why not buy slightly used stuff on eBay? He showed me some of the deals, including a Durace crank set for about $220 that someone had ridden three times. New, about $600. So, the story becomes: buying recreational gear on eBay, how to tell a fraud from a real deal, etc., using this ti bike as the example. He thinks I should be able to outfit the bike with new or slightly used top-of-the-line stuff for a grand, bringing the total to about $2000 with the frame. I am so looking forward to this.

A byproduct is I get to watch him build it and maybe even get to turn a wrench. I would so love to learn to build bikes.

Anyone else build a bike from eBay? Anyone got pictures of the results? I'll post one of mine when it's done.

Thanks.
IceMan

·
Registered
661 Posts
Congrats on being cancer free, I wish you many,many more.
An outdoor writer huh? In another life I dealt with a lifetime of you guys.....
Now, about your screenname...Walleye is the best eatin' fw fish I have ever eaten!

·
Registered
1,929 Posts