Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
320 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I am new to the biking world, but am moving closer to my job and with today's gas prices I would like to look into getting a bike to commute with. First off, I have no experience with road bikes. My commute is only about 5 miles each way and who knows, I am sure maybe I could start riding for fun on the weekend. I would like to get a full carbon frame bike (just because I love carbon fiber and the aesthetics of a bike) and don't care too much about the rest of the components since I can always upgrade those as I go. I like the looks of a bike, and consider it a piece of art. I really like some of the more aggresive and aerodynamic looking Cervelo, and Ogea Orca frames. I know, I know, why get this kind of bike for just commuting. I can bring the bike inside the office so I can be sure to put it in a safe spot. If anyone has any recommendations, please let me know. I am probably looking in the 1k-2k range. Thanks for everyone's thoughts and opinions.

·
Premium Member
21,853 Posts
All I can do is shake my head at this.

#1) You are new to biking but you want a full carbon COMMUTER!?!

#1a) For a 5 mile commute?!?

#2) Good luck with that price range.

How about a nice steel frame and fork fixed gear?

·
Registered
33 Posts
I bought a Giant OCR C3 a few months ago that I am very happy with. retail is $1900

Also if you like carbon and can afford carbon, the buy carbon. There is nothing better then a bike you like to look at and begs to be ridden.

Good luck with your new purchase!

·
Registered
33 Posts
just not that helpful.....

MB1 said:
All I can do is shake my head at this.

#1) You are new to biking but you want a full carbon COMMUTER!?!

#1a) For a 5 mile commute?!?

#2) Good luck with that price range.

How about a nice steel frame and fork fixed gear?
he has lots of options including used....

·
banned from the museum
6,755 Posts