Votes: 2 1.8%
  • Large

Votes: 1 0.9%
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
On your left!
1,299 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It's what I do for a living...data mining and all that goes with it. I haven't seen this post before (or at least on the new site), so here goes.

What is your frame size?

For those of you who haven't been in cycling more than 7 years, you may not know the cm measurement. All you know is that compact stuff, Small Medium or Large.

·
Banned forever.....or not
24,401 Posts
What if you have a 58, 59, 60, and a large, all with between a 57-1/2 & 58 top tube?
Buying bikes by "frame size" is so 90's.

·
eminence grease
18,538 Posts
What do those numbers mean? The "traditional" way of looking at frames where the number refers to the seat tube length? CTC or CTT? Or are you after the more important top tube length?

Given that just about every bike on the planet is measured differently (by its manufacturer) I think your data mining exercise is not going to return anything other than a histogram comprised of integers that don't refer to anything tangible. If 57 is the most common number, what does that mean when it comes to drawing a conclusion?

I have a bike with a 52 STL and a 56.5 virtual TTL. How would I report that? Or, how about a 57 CTC STL with a 56 TTL? Or a 57 CTT with a 55.7 TTL? 54 STL and 57 TTL? 58 CTT STL and 56.3 TTL?

·
On your left!
1,299 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
First of all

terry b said:
What do those numbers mean? The "traditional" way of looking at frames where the number refers to the seat tube length? CTC or CTT? Or are you after the more important top tube length?

Given that just about every bike on the planet is measured differently (by its manufacturer) I think your data mining exercise is not going to return anything other than a histogram comprised of integers that don't refer to anything tangible. If 57 is the most common number, what does that mean when it comes to drawing a conclusion?