Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

· Registered
382 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How often should I take my bike for a tune up ? I got 9500 miles on my bike now. I change the cassette and change myself about every 4000 miles, I have a chain checker. I had my rear wheel trued at 5000 miles after hitting a big pot hole. I was thinking maybe I should have a mechanic look my bike over. How often do you get your bike tuned up or looked over ?

· Banned
6,492 Posts
Nothing in a tune-up you can't learn to do.

I don't think I've ever had a bike tuned. I started riding in college, when I couldn't afford it, and learned to do nearly everything myself out of necessity. It's pretty easy, and now that I could afford it, I'd rather spend a summer morning doing it myself than put the bike in the shop for a day or two.
I'm not ANTI-shop--I'm on good terms with two LBSes here and take things there when I can't figure them out (I lack the gene for wheelbuilding). But you can do everything in a normal tuneup in an hour or two, save the bucks and know it's done right.
To answer your question about how often, though, I fix things when they don't work right, and I try to force myself to do bearings every year or two (my riding, only about 3000 miles a year these days, is spread over four bikes, so it's not like I was beating them to death).

· classiquesklassieker
3,113 Posts
saccycling said:
How often should I take my bike for a tune up ? I got 9500 miles on my bike now. I change the cassette and change myself about every 4000 miles, I have a chain checker. I had my rear wheel trued at 5000 miles after hitting a big pot hole. I was thinking maybe I should have a mechanic look my bike over. How often do you get your bike tuned up or looked over ?
Is it Campagnolo or Shimano?

Just kidding :).