Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

· Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
this should probably be a no-brainer for anyone that's ever taken an allen wrench to their bike, but always remember to loc-tite your bolts. shortly after i started riding to work, the single-arm attachment of my rear rack to the seat stay came undone while riding home, sending the rack (with my bag & laptop) pivoting behind the rear wheel and dragging behind me. i only am using one arm of the rear rack to attach to the seatstays because of clearance issues with the rear brake. swapped out a bolt from the second bottle braze-on, and back home. immediately loc-tited the bolt afterwards. now you'd think i'd be smart enough to go through the ENITRE rack set up and do the same, but NOOOOO! i'm not that smart and this morning, the attachment of the rack arm to the rack itself worked itself loose, again sending the entire rack & bag load crashing behind me. i guess it's lesson learned. third time will NOT be a charm. at least both incidents happened in traffic-friendly areas.

· Registered
110 Posts
No loc-tite, at least not the red loc-tite. There a purple loc-tite that is meant for pieces that will be disassembled.

I would try and use a star washer or nylon lock nuts before I would use loc-tite. In all my years of wrenching on bikes I have never had to use loc-tite on anything.

· Registered
4,838 Posts
rockpharmer said: