Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

I'm an industrial design student and our current mission is to develop new Walkie Talkies. Right now I need to ask myself, and yourself, who uses Walkie Talkies anymore and why. Below are some questions, you can answer any of them and of course just give your opinion. What I want to know is how you and your hobby (or lifestyle) of biking makes use of Walkie Talkies.

1. Do you use Walkie Talkies, if so why? Why not?

2. Explain how and when do you use them?
- example: 'First we decide on a channel, then I turn the volume way down... only use them if I lost the gang'

3. Where do you keep the Walkie Talkie while riding?

4. What functions do you like? Dislike?

5. Anything you might like to share and add?

You can share anything you like on the subject of Walkie Talkies, everything helps :). Wish you all a great day, and thanks for any help!

·
Registered
985 Posts
You can check out a small walkie talkie that Radio Shack created several years ago as research. The small hand held cigarette pack size transceiver fit nicely in a jersey pocket and had a boom mike that fit on the helmet. There was a small switching device that controlled the transceiver to be either voice activated or push-to-talk. I rode in a group from the Ft. Worth Bike Association that was filmed for a Radio Shack commercial. The little units didn't catch on and were dropped within a year or two. I still have a pair of the units that work well within 1/2 mile of each other.

·
Registered
2,507 Posts
I still have a pair of the units that work well within 1/2 mile of each other.
Which brings up the whole freq/range question with radios.