Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
dog is my copilot
137 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
BOB meets the Monkey

I hope you'll all go easy on me since I'm new to the ride report thing. :)

My wife and I decided to leave the car parked and take our bikes pretty much everywhere from now on, which seemed like the perfect excuse to buy a trailer. I borrowed a BOB from one of my teammates yesterday so see how I got along with it while trying to make up my mind on what to buy. This afternoon I loaded the BOB up with my camera and some rain gear and took off for a short get-acquainted ride before meeting the wife for a grocery run.

I wasn't sure what to expect handling-wise but the BOB was great. It didn't seem to appreciate it if I got out of the saddle but otherwise it was fairly neutral with the light load I had in back. There's definitely a learning curve when it comes to maneuvering bike and trailer around when you get off though. :p

The weather here in Portland has been pretty crap and today was no exception. The Springwater was pretty empty for me today.

By the time I got here, the spot I really wanted to spend a little time at with my camera, I had about two minutes before I had to meet the wife.

I spent a little over an hour going about 5 miles and it was awesome. I've never liked carrying my cameras on me while riding but putting the gear in the trailer was the perfect solution. I'll have to do this a little more often from now on. :)

·
dog is my copilot
137 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
threesportsinone said:
I need to try a BOB one of these days, I have a burley and a Blue Sky but I'm not sure I would want to take either on long distance rides. Both work great for errands around town though.
I'm really interested to see how the Nomad compares to the BOB. My LBS is bringing one over from another store for me to try out, hopefully tomorrow. I can't believe I didn't get one of these things a long time ago, they're so damn useful.