Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

· Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to road biking and just picked up an 08 carbon Lemond Versailles to use for recreation and commuting. I like it a lot so far, but the wheels are pretty sad (Bontrager SSR or something like that). So, I'm looking for a new set of wheels which will handle some commuting abuse and speed things up for me :) I'm not looking to spend too much money.

So far I've seen that it's easy to get a set of Bontrager Race Lites (Madone takeoffs) or a set of Dura Ace/Open Pros built up for fairly cheap. Any comments between these two options or other recommendations?

Thanks

· Registered
146 Posts
I would take DA/ Open Pros, very strong, reliable, stiff and fairly light if properly built. the only problem is that they don`t look as cool as other wheel-sets. I had Bontrager Race Lite on my madone 5.0 but sold them after hearing complains about the rear rim cracking at the eyelets.

· Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
ilpirati said:
I would take DA/ Open Pros, very strong, reliable, stiff and fairly light if properly built. the only problem is that they don`t look as cool as other wheel-sets. I had Bontrager Race Lite on my madone 5.0 but sold them after hearing complains about the rear rim cracking at the eyelets.
Thanks, I appreciate your input. For some reason I'm seeing varying advertised weights with the DA/OP wheelsets. Bicyclewheelwarehouse advertises them at 1601 grams (without skewers), which seems very good:

http://www.bicyclewheelwarehouse.com/index.php?act=viewProd&productId=47

Whereas other places advertise them a few hundred grams heavier. I dunno what the deal is.

· Descender
2,213 Posts
The DA open pros I doubt come in at 1601 gm's. They are more like 1900 +