Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

· Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just started riding this year, a newbie if you will. Got myself a Trek 1500 during the Spring Sales event at a local bike shop. Anyway, has anyone heard/used the Bontrager Select wheel and have had it bent while riding it? I was riding home on a flat bike trail going around 15 mph with a head-wind. I started to ride standing up while rocking the bike side-to-side, the next thing I know, the front wheel just gave and bent, causing it the front to stop spinning, I, naturally, rolled over and landed on my shoulder, ER, 6 hours later, a couple of broken bones, and bruised shoulder...any comments would be much appreciated.

· Registered
571 Posts
Thats nasty looking, I have never seen a wheel bend like that before. I would be contacting the manufacturer.

cheers

Ralph

· Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
asterisk said:
Well it looks like it split right on the seam, I'd say that's a manufacturing defect if you were just riding along and not going down a stair case or something.
A co-worker of mine who is an avid cyclist thought the same thing. He thinks the welding may have failed. By the way, the wheel only has about 550 miles on it. I have always thought the spoke pattern is a bit unconventional. Don't know if that has anything to do with it.

· Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Alter Ego said:
awe man. Next time you get in your bike, do a wheels ful inspection and check for the spokes tension.
Will the spoken tension attribute to the failure of the wheel? The wheel was making some noise the first few weeks. I took it back to the bike shop and they couldn't tell what's wrong with it. After a few days, I got the wheel back and the noise went away. Maybe that's what they did - tighten up the spokes.

· Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
PsyDoc said: