Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
425 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm thinking of changing from my DA 7700 crankset to either THM-Carbones, Stronglight Pulsion CT2, or Zipp 300. How difficult will it be to remove the DA & replace? Is this something I can do, or should I just have my LBS do it? Any thoughts on the above 3 replacements - pros/cons. Thanks.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Easy with the right tools

I've been riding for about 25 years and finally started doing my own work. I use a couple of different books (Zinn's and Park's) and the net along with the right tools. I find it very enjoyable to do the work. I once paid $150 at a bike shop to swap the parts from one frame to another. I thought that was crazy, so for about $50 worth of tools and a book I can do it myself.

Sorry, I'm not familiar with the cranks you mentioned but the Shimano crank/BB removal/install is easy.

·
Registered
217 Posts
I agree with Semdoug

I'm also not familiar with the units you mentioned, but I've replaced bottom brackets twice - my mtb (shimano upgrade) and my road bike (campy to fsa). It's not that hard and the tools are cheap (I'm used to buying tools for cars). Just take it slow - Semdoug's adice on Zinn's and Park is right on.

·
Registered
425 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks guys.

I have most of the tools - but I may need to buy some special BB tools, - such as a diff. lockring wrench or two if the new BB uses diff. than DA. And I have several books, including Zinn, but I don't have special tools like thread facing & chasing tools, etc. After reading Zinn & Barnett's Manual, I got a little scared whether I might need to re-thread & chase the BB shell before installing the new BB.

Is the DA 7700 BB a cartridge or cup & cone? Thanks.

·
rebounder
572 Posts
i think