Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding my MTN bike on and off for the past 10 years but lately I've been riding it more on road than off. I was getting tired of having to drive somewhere to ride my bike.

I found, what I think, was a good deal locally. I've always wanted a Cannondale and found a rather well off rider that was selling his first bike as he just purchased a Madone. I picked up a 2007 Cannondale Snyapse Sport 4. Bone stock except for a new upgraded front rim, an Aclass AKX R10 I believe it is. Paid $400 for it. Excellent condition with not a nick or scratch on it.

Amazing the difference between riding this and my 10 year old VERY heavy MTN bike. Need new pedals the seller just put on some cheap platforms he had in the garage so I could take it for a test ride. Should be ordering my pedals today and thinking about a carbon seatpost as well.

Cannont wait to start riding more, but not lookign forward to the upgrade bug to bite me.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Just returned from my first ride on it. New pedals are a MUST have. did 10 miles and using cheap platform pedals was very tough. Also going to take some getting use to the new riding position and that tiny seat.

Pedals and shorts will be ordered in a few minutes.

·
Fini les ecrase-"manets"!
9,416 Posts
Congrats on the new bike.

Don't bother with a carbon seatpost yet (unless you're really into spending the money). Actually, I don't recommend upgrading anything on the bike except going to clipless pedals (which sounds like the plan already) for at least 1000 miles, with one possible exception.