Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
172 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
without getting all heated. i was curious of the main advantage, if any of going with say an s works, (insert name/company here) top end bike compared to a crumpton, parlee etc?

naturally to me it seems like a no brainer to get a crumpton/parlee built to my specs for around the same price as an off the shelf s works?

i didnt see how much the crumptons were but looked like a top end bike might run you $13k or so with all top end components?

im new to the road game so dont hang me over it.. :) just wanted to wrap my head around it a little bit. possibly dream/plan for a future build? ;)

·
Premium Member
21,910 Posts
Notice how good racers (and race teams) change bike sponsors with no real change in results?

Work on the motor, the chassis doesn't much matter.

·
Registered
1,923 Posts
Not talking about the motor here....

After having owned and ridden several "off-the-shelf" top end framesets, I'll never ever buy another. They're all sold. I ride a custom Guru Photon and a steel custom Cyfac. Both bikes fit better, ride better, handle better, and feel better than anything else I've ridden. My wife is looking for a new bike this year, and she's likely to get a custom Cyfac Gothica. OTS, just say no.

You won't beat the ride of a bike that was built to fit, and for your personal riding style.

·
Steaming piles of opinion
10,503 Posts
It is a mystery. If you have the funds for a "top end" big name, you've got the funds for a top end custom. With the (possible) exception of a TT-specific frame*, I can't think of the reason why you'd pay for the stickers instead of the customization.

*The TT exception is possible because the custom geometries are harder to work with when the absolutes of slippery profiles is the primary design consideration.

·
Registered
172 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·