Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I understand that most fixed bikes have a front brake for emergencies. What are your thoughts for a singlespeed? Is the front brake enough, or should you have a rear brake too. Also, do most people have their front brake on their left or right hand?

Sorry, I'm new to this. I really appreciate your help. Thanks.

·
Registered
675 Posts
Different opinions

raa1976 said:
I understand that most fixed bikes have a front brake for emergencies. What are your thoughts for a singlespeed? Is the front brake enough, or should you have a rear brake too. Also, do most people have their front brake on their left or right hand?

I run a front brake on my fixie for the obvious reasons. I also don't always ride with my cycling shoes and clipped in, so it's impossible for me to skid stop with the gear I'm running. I've decided I'll never put a freewheel on it because of the fact that it only has one brake (riding fixed is also just too much fun!). Now I'm pretty good about doing periodic safety checks on all my rigs, but there seems to be this lingering paranoid fear of the possibility that my one and only brake would fail at high speed while coasting down a steep descent. Then I'd either bale or stop Flintstones-style. Not something I want to think about.

In my opinion, no, I would not run a single speed with only one brake. It would be partly for my own sanity but also due to the fact that a fixie allows your legs to take atleast part of the functional role of a rear brake. If you do a considerable amount of prolonged descents, then a running a single front brake introduces the risk of a tire blowout from overheating of the rim. Other than that, it's certainly possible to do. A buddy of mine trained throughout the winter on a SS with a single-front brake.