Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all! I'm brand new to riding and have managed to inherit an older Giant Innova hybrid (1999 or 2000 maybe). The bike's in great shape (almost never ridden). It probably needs new tires and tubes. No big deal, but there's some things that I would like to change. The reason? I really want to get into touring and hope to do a century by November. I know the hybrids are a bit heavy and slow, but I'm gonna work with what I've got. Here are the specs:

Frame & Fork
Frame Construction: TIG-welded
Frame Tubing Material: Giant ALUXX 6061 T-6 aluminum
Fork Brand & Model: RST 801, 1.6" travel
Fork Material: Aluminum/chromoly, triple-clamp crown
Rear Shock: Not applicable

Components
Component Group: Hybrid Mix
Brakeset: Aluminum linear-pull brakes, aluminum linear-pull levers
Shift Levers: SRAM Attack
Front Derailleur: Shimano Deore top-swing
Rear Derailleur: Shimano Deore SGS
Crankset: SR MD304, 22/32/44 teeth
Pedals: Steel cage, aluminum body w/clips & straps
Bottom Bracket: Cartridge
BB Shell Width: Unspecified
Rear Cogs: 9-speed, 11 - 32 teeth
Chain: 1/2 x 3/32"
Seatpost: Aluminum, suspension, 30.8mm diameter
Saddle: Giant Spring Comfort
Handlebar: Aluminum, rise
Handlebar Extensions: Not included
Handlebar Stem: Aluminum, adjustable
Headset: 1 1/8" steel

Wheels
Hubs: Alloy
Rims: Weinmann Zac 19, 36-hole
Tires: 700 x 40c Cross Comfort Anti-Puncture
Spoke Brand: Stainless steel, 2.0mm straight gauge
Spoke Nipples: Brass nipples

I'd like to know what kind of tires to put on the rims I have for the road and I'd like to know what I can do about that straight handle bar. I don't know if I can put drop bars on that or not with my SRAM Attack twist shifters. Could I put the end bar drop bars on there. I've got a set of aerobars as well that I'd like to put on. I'll worry about the panniers and stuff later. I just want to get on the road and get some miles under me first.