Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,
I'm new to the board and want to throw out a few ideas for comment on refinishing my old Pinarello. Before I do though, here's the long story of how I came to own my Pinarello... Back in mid-80's I started training and racing bikes when I was in college. Being a typical student I had little free money to support the habit. My first road race bike was a FAGGIN, that's pronounced "fah-jean", but as you might expect, all my team mates would say "****-in" and alot of other things I wont mention... Anyway, at the third race of the '87 college season some Fred in the front of the field decided to lock up his brakes going into a turn and set off a chain reaction event. I found myself at the bottom of a 15+ bike pile up with plenty of road rash. After I untangled myself from the mess of wheels, bikes and fellow riders who were all equally dazed, I realized the fork on my Faggin was folded back to the down tube, the front wheel was pretzeled and the top tub had a hideous buckle behind the head tube. In short, my bike was wasted. The following week I went to the LBS that sponsored our team and wined and cried about needed a new frame before the next race, oh and I needed a deal as I was a broke student.... The LBS owner made a few calls to his distributors to see what he could get. A while later he got a call back after the distributor searched his inventory and yah, I think I can help you... The good news: He had a 55cm Pinarello Montello made with Columbus SLX tubing that he would sell cheap. I got totally fired up. I always wanted a Pinarello ever since I saw Alexi Grewall win the Olympic road race at the '84 games in LA. Now the bad news, the reason for the deal on the frame was because it was an odd ball non-catalog color that was sent over for a bike show or some such story.... The frame color was officially "Pearlescent Peach" with blue decals I was told. I said