Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I broke my leg right my the knee do you guys think I can still ride? I think I am done.the doctor thinks I will. Now I sit here feeling sorry myself. I can't work I am a welder it is going to cost me thousands bills. cycling is my life now it's gone. I know it may have been worst! I had to tell someone who rides thanks

·
Registered
32 Posts
You can ride

Give yourself time (a year, at least) before deciding whether or not to give it up. You will be healing for a long time, even after it feels like the healing is complete.

Your muscles and connective tissues are traumatized and will take time to heal. Not using your leg much during the healing process will lead to atrophy and weakness, and it will take time to build up your strength again.

Look into the story of Floyd Landis' broken hip for insipriation.

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
BMF136 said:
I'm sorry to hear about that. How bad is the break? I doubt you're done, just give it some time to heal and I'm sure you'll be back in the saddle sooner than you think.
the doc said it's bad break right below the knee 6 week before i can put weigth on it. thanks

·
Resident Curmudgeon
13,390 Posts
I wouldn't draw any conclusions yet. Plan on riding again, and do your rehab with that goal in mind.

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
kpcw said:
Ride again? You kidding? You are not a horse who'll be put out to stud. Listen to the Dr., he'll monitor the x-rays. I imagine you are in a cast right now, yes? Are you on two crutches as well? This break will be x-rayed every few weeks, yes? You get out of the cast in 6 or 8 weeks, yes? What type of break/fracture was it, did the Dr. tell you?

I'll bet you a dollar you will be riding in no time at all.
you are right. the type fracture he said but I forgot it's right below the knee. thanks

·
Registered
325 Posts
Get well soon