Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

· Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok before i go and take this tire off and buy somthing that i dont need, what is this and how is it caused. i have a bubble on my sidewall of my tire and just wanted to know if its my sidewall giving away or my tube. i am new to roadbiking so this is greek to me on what to do. i like my tires but if i need them replaced, not a big deal, but if i can repair them then that would be even better since a patch kit would not be that expensive.

· Registered
237 Posts
If it is similar to what I have seen...

then it is sorta both. The tire is thin there, I suspect, and the tube is bulging into it. I would definitely investigate. I have seen tires do this that had really thin sidewalls. There is a limit to non-racing-use weight savings in tires, and many cross it, IMHO. Try riding a tough tire and see if you mind, or notice, that you haven't saved 32 grams.

Jeepson33s said:
ok before i go and take this tire off and buy somthing that i dont need, what is this and how is it caused. i have a bubble on my sidewall of my tire and just wanted to know if its my sidewall giving away or my tube. i am new to roadbiking so this is greek to me on what to do. i like my tires but if i need them replaced, not a big deal, but if i can repair them then that would be even better since a patch kit would not be that expensive.

· Chili hed & old bike fixr
1,197 Posts
Think about this.

Jeepson33s said:
If there is plenty of tread left, you can make a boot out of an old tire andplace it between the tube and bulging tire. That said, unless it is a very small bulge, 1/8" or so, You would do best by replacing the tire. I say tire, because it is the job of the tube to expand and fill the tire. If there is a weak spot on the tire, the tube will push out there because there is no support.