Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey All,

I am not really new to riding, but I am new to working on and building up bikes.
I wanted to see what the price difference is between a bike already assembled or buying the same parts and building the bike yourself. Is there any price difference?

·
scruffy nerf herder
4,484 Posts
straight up... parting up a bike, if you are trying to do it on a budget is a time consuming, painstaking thing to do.

You typically get a far better deal on buying bikes whole on the cheap, then unparting, reparting, selling off, etc. HandsomeRob makes a freaking hobby of it.

·
Banned
270 Posts
Take into consideration 99% of the people who buy a complete bike either uprade or replace after a year or two (atleast it seams that way) Build what you want top to bottom , you won't regret it.. There are amazing prices online for groups and wheels....

·
Registered
1,627 Posts
Hidden costs, my friend. If you are new to building up bikes, you are going to run into many hidden costs if you do it yourself. The largest cost will of course be time. Not only your time building the bike, but also waiting for parts to come in, waiting to win eBay auctions, waiting to exchange mail-order parts that were not exactly what you wanted, etc. etc. And that time is time lost from actually riding the bike, time you'll never recover.

Not trying to discourage you, because I think in terms of actual dollars building a bike from scratch is cheaper, especially if you look for used parts. For example, if you look carefully you can find nice Campy Chorus stuff on eBay for the price of new Centaur. But it's about more than dollars. Nice to have choices, ain't it?

·
Banned
270 Posts