Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
6,017 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have always wanted to learn to build wheels. I took a course at the local shop last month and with some ebay parts I built up a low end front wheel that I can use as a backup. Ended up with a 105 hub ($10 ebay), Sun CR18 rim ($15 ebay) and basic 14g spokes. After about 4 hours of alternatively tensioning and reading my Jobst Brandt book I think I ended up with a decent wheel. I know this is no big deal for many of you, but I viewed it as some kind of bike mechanic milestone. Anyway its raining so what else am I to do?

·
What the Hell is going on
5,143 Posts
Congrats

Welcome to the mystical and magical realm of wheel building (please don't tell everyone how easy it really is). I've been building my own wheels for over 15 years. I first started bulding my wheels when I broke my first spoke. My LBS charged me 50 cent for a spoke and 5 dollars for labor. After that I've flirted with lightweight and exotic wheels but I've come to the conclusion that building stout, dependable wheels (like yours) leads to more bike riding time.

·
Registered
302 Posts
That's the way...

Good Man.
As a hard-ridin' clyde I just got fed up with ham-fisted bike shop vandals screwing up my wheels. The final straw? - I had a wheel rebuilt by a local "top" wheelbuilder - it came back dished the wrong way (I kid you not!!). I aked another how he "stress relieves" his wheels - he asked "what's that??".
I bought the Jobst Brandt and Gerd Schraner books, got hold of the relevant chapter from Barnetts (ingenious get-started lacing methodology BTW), and have not looked back. I ride hard and my wheels stand.
Riding your own wheels...like catching a trout on a fly you tied yourself, but that's for another forum...

·
"Cypress Gardens" Fl.
685 Posts
Way to go Dave G.....

I have also been contemplating building my own wheels, especially with the new "Ambrosio" "Excellence" rims I got.

·