Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys!

I'm relatively new to the racing world (I've only completed one sprint triathlon and intend to get into more cycling and tris in the near future) and am looking to purchase my first racing road bike. I've been looking to buy new (either the Roubaix Triple or the Dolce Comp-Both $1300 with 105 components) but recently found a used (300 training miles on it) 2008 Cervelo Soloist Team bike for $1300. This bike has full ultegra and also comes with an extra saddle and seat post as well as aerobars for converting it to a tri bike.

I test road the same model in a store today and though it feels somewhat flimsy....it also felt like it conformed to me. I thought the ride went well but just read a thread regarding the harshness of the 2007 Cervelo Soloist ride.

Can anyone give me some insight on this issue? Is the 2008 model much different than the 2007? What about price, is it a good deal? Also is anyone else familiar with the Roubaix and Dolce in comparison to the Soloist Team?

Any help is greatly appreciated!!! I'm looking to purchase this bike Friday.

Thanks!

· Registered
485 Posts
I just switched from a 2006 roubaix to a soloist and would not go back to the roubaix. The soloist is a harsher ride and I feel much better suited to racing it feels much more responsive and precise. The only knock against it is the wheelset is kinda lame.

It is a personal choice though and I suggest riding them both and going with the one that suits you.

· Registered
34 Posts
Soloist Team