Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi...i'm new to this forum...my name is jordan and I am going to be around here for a while so I am going to enter with the question that everyone asks...what should I buy...and what do you think about these bikes...

I've ridden everything under 1500 that I can get my hands on except the cannondale cross

my favorites are
Fuji Cross pro '05...new with alex wheels

Surly cross-check new...'05 but I guess they have been the same forever...it has a mavic wheelset...

redline conquest disc, used with velomax wheels (http://cgi.ebay.com/2004-REDLINE-Co...ryZ98084QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem)

since I am new to the market...I am primarily concerned about the feel of the bike and the quality of the wheelset..it's primary duty will be a 20 mile commute in light traffic halfway and city traffic the other...with some fun trails thrown in on the weekend

the fuji and the surly were really nice rides...but the fuji's wheelset is crappy from the research I have done and I don't want to spend the extra money on the extra wheel set in the near future...the surly would be about 170 more expensive...after taxes...

I haven't been able to ride the redline...it's on ebay...but it seems like is put together with slightly better components and much better wheels...I am a newb so I could be talking out of my rear...

I welcome educated comments or simply thoughts on the subject...

thanks all

·
Registered
3,115 Posts
Since this is your first time with a 'crosser, I would definitely recommend against buying anything you can't test ride; until you've lived with a bike for months and determined what suits you, you don't want to be relying on the specs an eBay seller provides. No matter how good a deal it seems to be, if it doesn't fit you it's no kind of deal at all.