Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
166 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone, I have a new-to-me ~2004 CAAD 7 bike that I've only had for about a week. This is my first road bike, and first foray back into cycling really since the late 90's. This bike came from SOCAL, and is painted in Helen's Cycles team livery. I've noticed some paint bubbling under the bottom bracket, and a couple other places as well.

I'm an aircraft structural mechanic/NDI tech by trade, so I know the signs of corrosion when I see them. I'm more curious how common corrosion was on these frames, and how much of an effect it had on them, given the very thin tubing?

·
Registered
30 Posts
Since your bike has a special paint job and not a factory paint job could be a defect in the paint?! I'm no expert you should have that looked at by someone. Would not be good if you were flying down a steep hill and your frame gave out!!!

·
Cranky Old Bastard
2,337 Posts
I wouldn't be crazy paranoid but I would chip off some of the paint under the BB and see what the tubes look like. Is is just surface corrosion or deeply pitted?
Obviously, SoCal could mean salty air.

Take it to a Cannondale dealer and ask what he thinks.

If it were mine I'd probably walnut or soda blast the paint off and have it powder coated if the tubes look ok.

Edit: I'd take out the seatpost to make sure it's not corroded into the frame. Maybe take off the fork and BB to check them and see if their is any corrosion inside the tubes.

·
Registered
166 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·