Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Super Moderator
19,599 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I got a Ciclo Master CM 434 computer and am trying to calibrate the wheel size. I ride 700x22 Conti Sprinter tubulars. I usually pump them up to about 105-110 lbs.

The chart in the instruction booklet says I should calibrate the computer to approx 2128 mm.

When I do a roll out measurement it comes out to about 2087 mm. I did the measurement by pumping my tires up to pressure, putting a piece of white tape on my tire and rolling it next to a tape measure. All the while putting pressure down on the handlebars. I did the measurement several times and came out with about the same number.

There's quite a difference between the two numbers. Which one do I go by? Am I doing my roll out measurement wrong? :(

·
"Cypress Gardens" Fl.
686 Posts
No, I dont think your measurements are wrong, but you could try a different way just to be sure. I just did a roll-out of my front tire, and as far as I'm concerned is pretty damn accurate. With the tire off the bike I taped a business card sideways on the tire and marked the rear edge on a long table. Next I rolled the tire one full revolution and marked the rear edge again. Measure the two points in milimeters and program it into your computer. You can do the same thing sitting on your bike if you want, but the difference will be slight. According to my Blackburn manual anything less than 30 mm will not effect accuracy much.

·
Resident Curmudgeon
13,390 Posts
You can get even more accurate by inflating the tires to the pressure you usually use, then do your roll out by sitting on the bike & rolling along a wall. Takes 2 people, as you'll need someone to measure for you.

·
eminence grease
18,559 Posts
averaging the results of multiple roll-outs is the best way to go, the numbers in the booklets are notorious approximations.