Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Shirtcocker
60,886 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been running the same pads for about 7 years now (y2k chorus dual pivots) and they are getting close to that "limit" line. Can I keep running them until they are past the line or am I pushing my luck?

also...should I replace with campy or is there a better pad out there?

·
Registered
14,776 Posts
KoolStop

Bocephus Jones II said:
I've been running the same pads for about 7 years now (y2k chorus dual pivots) and they are getting close to that "limit" line. Can I keep running them until they are past the line or am I pushing my luck?

7 yrs?

·
No Crybabies
11,692 Posts
replace

Bocephus Jones II said:

I let a set go so far on my commuter bike that it started grinding into the pad holder. Not good. They are cheap enough, given how long they last, that I'd go ahead and replace before there are issues.

I like the Swiss Stop yellow better than the standard Campy pads. They seem to have a smoother feel, and less of a "grinding" feel. Hard to describe. They say they are for carbon, but work great on Open Pros. I've actually made them last longer than the Campy ones did on my commuter, including all winter. YMMV, of course.

·
Shirtcocker
60,886 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
JCavilia said:
yeah...I have a pretty light hand on the brakes. :D plus I rarely ride that bike in bad (read rainy) weather.

·
good son , bad man
149 Posts
As good as all of the Campy componets are, the stock brake pads, quite honestly, suck. They are noisy, and don't stop worth sh__. The rubber seems to be very hard and they grind and leave black streaks on your rims.

Definately don't replace them with Campy rather go for Kool Stop black.

They cost half as much, are silent, last as long, don't blacken your rims and they STOP.

·
Registered
21,832 Posts
Parallel universes

uncle said: