Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I've been a lurker here for a while now and have learned quite a bit from reading others posts. I am a 21 year old male of about 140lbs 5' 9" and have been on a road bike for a bit over a year now. I currentley attend Clarkson University which means I am a poor college student which will be important later on in my discussion. I used to race xc mountain bikes and then that got old as my friends took up other persuits. I have since converted to road bike as I enjoy it more on a solo basis and I have met a bunch of people with whom I now ride.

I started off with a Kona Haole at the beginning of last year which was full 105 then upgraded to a Specialized Allez Comp which was full Ultegra. I have now pretty much figured out what I like and am going to build up a Cinelli Starship but am at a loss for what to do with componentry. I really like the Carbon Record 10spd stuff but also like the new Dura Ace 10. I have never ridden a campy equipped bike but have always heard their the best but I'm not really sure.

I know that campy seems to have a cult following but it sometimes seems to be more of an "I'm better than you because I have campy and you don't" sort of following. I don't really care about ego's or which is old school and cool or better just because its Italian. I am really concerned with functionality and a little bit of style. I will give it up that the Carbon Record does look better and I do also realize that their is a price gap between it and the Dura Ace 10. But if price wasn't a concern which way would people go for functionality and durability. I would really like to hear some real world ideas and not ego's coming through. If someone who was on both which were properley set up and could give me an honest opinion of each and compare the benefits of either it would be great :p .

·
eminence grease
18,538 Posts