Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi

I'm quite new to road riding, my bike came with the new 3T Discus C35 pro wheels, they seem to roll well but without really lowering tire pressures they feel really harsh on slightly rough roads.

I wonder long term if I would be better swapping them out for a wheel with a lower profile? I tend to ride hilly rides about 20-30 miles. At 56 no spring chicken so won't be racing, just looking for advise if a plush feeling wheels exist and should I change the 3T out?
My tyres are GP4000's.

Cheers Phil

·
A wheelist
11,324 Posts
Hi

I'm quite new to road riding, my bike came with the new 3T Discus C35 pro wheels, they seem to roll well but without really lowering tire pressures they feel really harsh on slightly rough roads.

I wonder long term if I would be better swapping them out for a wheel with a lower profile? I tend to ride hilly rides about 20-30 miles. At 56 no spring chicken so won't be racing, just looking for advise if a plush feeling wheels exist and should I change the 3T out?
My tyres are GP4000's.

Cheers Phil
Oh I'm sure there will be some compliance differences in rim depths but look at it this way - a rim can only deflect so much before spoke tension is reduced to zero and at that point you're getting into trouble. So the deflection can probably be measured in thousandths of an inch or a millimeter or so.

Compare that to the average tire that can compress anywhere from half an inch to an inch or so. That's light years more than rim deflection.

Pneumatic tires were designed for a reason - to cushion the ride and we must use this fine feature. Tailor your tire pressures to you and your roads. For me at 175lbs and my roads and my 25mm tires that's about 80f/90r. It's comfort heaven.

·
Registered
829 Posts
I'm certainly no expert, but when I switched from Oval 330 wheels to Shimano C50 wheels, the C50 has a much soother ride.

·
Banned Sock Puppet