Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The rear wheel (rim) is bent on my Marin Shimano - wheel is a 32 spoke AlexRims R450. It was bent very slightly while going through a turn which transformed into a slide which then became a roll :D

The rim itself is fine cosmetically, but when I spin the wheel it rubs the brake in the same spot every complete revolution. I am a roadbike newbie, is there any process or method out there that can realign this wheel? Is it possible something else could be wrong? Thank you in advance.

-para

·
Registered
614 Posts
With out seeing it and having a play as I live in Tasmania I would say take it to a good bikeshop. They would usually have a look for you for free and help you get back on the road.

·
Registered
614 Posts
para_bellum said:
Any idea if there's some tool/machining process that can realign an aluminum rim?

If the rim is fine as per your first post, than your half way there and should not cost the earth..could just be the spokes that need adjusting and it usually gets done in a wheel truing tool. Save yourself the head ache and see your shop. Go to the guys that the bike came from as you already have experience with them.

·
Registered
5,234 Posts
If you're good with your hands, truing a wheel is no big deal. You don't really even need a shop, although a truing stand does make it a little easier.

Park tool has an article on it.

http://www.parktool.com/repair/readhowto.asp?id=81

Their web site is pretty great, and covers almost all repair topics that you'll run into on a modern bike. While wheel truing is not rocket science, it can be easy to screw it up if you're not mechanically inclined.

·
Registered
21,542 Posts
Process

para_bellum said:
Any idea if there's some tool/machining process that can realign an aluminum rim?