Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need some help... I hope some of you guys out there can really help me. I have been riding a Cannondale R1000 for about 4 years. I love it and have been thinking about upgrading to a six 13. I have a buddy who I ride with a lot. He was riding a specialized and he could not keep up with me. I was always slowing down and waiting for him. He bought a trek madone 5.5 and when I rode with him, I cannot keep up with him now!!!! This really has made me wonder if i should get a madone 5.5 over a six 13 now. I need some help on opinions of others who may have spent time riding both the six 13 and the madone 5.5
Thanks

·
Registered
9,274 Posts
i hardly beleive that the bike can make that big of a difference! i rode the Trek madone 5.5, Specialized tarmac pro, Cannondale six 13 team 1, Look 565 as well as the Caad 8 R5000 and i didn't see any HUGE difference that would make me faster on one than on the others! I don't really think its fair to compare Cannondale and Trek, I beleive that Cannondale is a supperior bike in every aspect and they actually still make the mass majority of their frames in the states. The Trek to me felt a lilttle more upright like it had a shorter top tube and therefore it made me feel a tad more comfortable which would be nice on long rides, but the Cannondale and Specialized felt more compact and aggressive as if they were strictly race bikes. I beleive their geometry allowed me to be quicker out of the saddle and trasnfer every pedal stroke to the rear wheel. Either way they are both american companys and are battled tested and there is only a few hundred dollars difference, go with what feels right for you and your style of riding not because your buddy rides one now or because Lance Armstrong rode one. In the long run i think you would be happier with the Cannondale! Good luck with your decision!

Lee

·
Registered
147 Posts
Mhoyle329 said: