Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I'm down to two bikes, the Cannondale Six13 5 (or 3) and the Cervelo Soloist Team. It will be my first road bike (and my first bike since grade school).

Both bikes feel natural to me and I've tried both bikes twice. It's difficult to compare which is quicker (or feels quicker) but the Six13 was more comfortable. I like the look of the Six13 in black and the Soloist in silver and red.

I might do duathlons in the future. Initially, I'll just get used to riding a road bike (I'm totally new to the sport -- never used bike shoes, etc.) . I actually run, and I wanted a bike for cross-training. Now, I'm interested in the cycling in general (I raised my budget from $1200 to $2k).

Any advice input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

·
Cannot bench own weight
4,298 Posts
PigmyRacer said:
On some level that is a severe oversimplification.
Not really. Comfort should be the biggest priority.

I have several different bikes, from a Soloist Carbon to a Colnago Master Light, and I'm "just as fast" on any of them. You'd have to be an elite rider to be able to really benefit from some of these "supposed" enhancements.

·
Registered
650 Posts
Einstruzende said:
Not really. Comfort should be the biggest priority.

I have several different bikes, from a Soloist Carbon to a Colnago Master Light, and I'm "just as fast" on any of them. You'd have to be an elite rider to be able to really benefit from some of these "supposed" enhancements.
No I agree that comfort is a priority. Thats why I think that saying there is no difference in comfort between a carbon/aluminum bike and an all aluminum bike is a slight oversimplification.

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
PigmyRacer said:
No I agree that comfort is a priority. Thats why I think that saying there is no difference in comfort between a carbon/aluminum bike and an all aluminum bike is a slight oversimplification.