Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Cipo's long lost cousin
975 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have recently seen picts of a couple of carbon fiber forks that use carbon dropouts (example - 2004 C-Dale Slice fork). Maybe it's just me but does that seem like a good idea?

Bear with me now as I am not a material scientist or mechanical engineer...

From my basic understanding of composites, carbon fiber is simply layers of carbon (typically woven) with some type of epoxy filler used to "cement" it all together. For a long time there has been issues about scratching carbon fiber components which could cause the component to fail. Examples of this concern include handlebar mfrs limiting the use of tri-bars and bar-ends on carbon handlebars.

Is the carbon fiber/filler now more "scratch resistant" that it could withstand serrated quick releases and hubs? Any industry types want to chime in on this one?

·
Banned forever.....or not
24,421 Posts
One of my bikes has a fork with all carbon tips. I'm very careful with it, to make sure that I don't clamp down too hard w/ the QR.
Not the best idea, in my opinion.

·
Registered
9,079 Posts
Just put it this way...

... this is not something that I would like to test. May not be long before the entire bike is carbon fiber, but I'd rather critical components be thoroughly debugged by others first. I think carbon makes great tubing-type components, but it's weakness seems to be where it attaches to other parts -- like where the hub attaches to the fork. It's practically impossible to crush solid metal and metal is much more abrasion resistant -- problems with carbon fiber. There are carbon chainrings out, but I think their estimate life is something like 500 miles; that should tell you something.

Doug

·
Premium Member
20,473 Posts
As cyclists, we worry too much about carbon