Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1,551 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am one of those guys that likes his bike to look nice and clean, heck I clean the bike after almost every ride.

This past Sunday (while cleaning the bike) I noticed the following dimples on the seat tube. At first I thought it was the lighting but after running my fingers over it I felt all this dimples on the seat tube towards the crank. The clear coat is intact and it does not feel like a paint chip or similar.

Seeing how this is my first carbon bike I wanted to ask if this is "normal"?? I'm not averse to normal wear and tear or chips on the bike due to riding it, but this struck me as a different issue. No other sections of the frame exhibit this so I am wondering if I need to replace this? or what?

View attachment 276840

View attachment 276841

View attachment 276842

·
Albert Owen
1,041 Posts
I'm no expert and others might know different, but I had this on my Pinarello 3:13. It appeared to me to be nothing other than a less than perfect finish and certainly not a fault. My current Giant TCR SL is just this side of perfectly finished as well.

·
Registered
1,551 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I'm no expert and others might know different, but I had this on my Pinarello 3:13. It appeared to me to be nothing other than a less than perfect finish and certainly not a fault.
Humm...so maybe this is indeed common?

How tight is that derailleur clamp?
Local Hero, I honestly couldn't say. I have never touched it since the bike was purchased. Are you suggesting it was over tighthen and this caused the seat tube to deform?

·
Registered
6,854 Posts
I saw this exact same thing on the top tube of a friend's S-Works SL3. Also saw the same thing on another friend's Roubaix SL3.

Many of the generic Ebay Chinese carbon frames can also be seen with this sort of imperfections.