Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Folks,

I'm somewhat new to the mechanical scene. I currently have a 11-23 Ultegra 10 speed cassette on my bike. If I were to go with a 12-27 cassette, would I benefit in anyway or would it put me at a disadvantage compared to my current 11-23 cassette???

·
NeoRetroGrouch
6,493 Posts
sdkwan said:
Hi Folks,

I'm somewhat new to the mechanical scene. I currently have a 11-23 Ultegra 10 speed cassette on my bike. If I were to go with a 12-27 cassette, would I benefit in anyway or would it put me at a disadvantage compared to my current 11-23 cassette???
What is the goal? What gears are you currently missing? What gears don't you use? - TF

·
Registered
453 Posts
If you're doing more climbing then the 12-27 may help you get up some steeper hills. If you're riding on the flats more then the 11-23 will allow you to go faster for a given cadence. It all depends on your application.

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I live in central NJ which is mainly flats with some rolling hills. There isn't any real killer hills that I know of. I'm in the process of getting a new wheelset so I have been thinking of getting a new cassette as well but wanted to understand the difference with the various gearings.

·
Still On Steel
2,396 Posts
According to the Shimano web site, these two Ultegra 10sp cassettes have these cogs:

11-23: 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 19, 21, 23
12-27: 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 19, 21, 24, 27

which basically means you'd simply be trading your current highest cog, the 12, for the lower 27 granny. There is a slight change at the next-lowest cog (23 becomes 24) but everything in the middle, from the 13 to the 21, is exactly the same.