Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
284 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding for about 7 years now and am approaching 10,000 road miles. I also do some light "mountain" bike riding and am at the gym 4 - 5 days a week. I'm in decent shape, no gut, good weight.

I've have two bikes, neither with especially aggressive geometry. One I had professionally fit using the Specialized method.

My problem is that after a couple of hours of riding my right shoulder blade, under my neck and towards my spine starts to ache. I mean real serious pain. One time after stopping I got off the bike and let out a yell after a bolt of pain shot through my back. Sometimes the ache will last a day or two.

My question is what can I do to address this? I've tried different seat and handlebar angles with no effect. The stems on both bikes are angled up.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

·
Steaming piles of opinion
10,520 Posts
It's very likely a postural problem. Chances are you are riding with elbows locked and your head and neck 'hammocked' between your shoulders.

Try bending your elbows. Doesn't take much, just enough to force the support to be in the muscular system rather than the skeletal. You'll also likely feel your pecs activate, though only slightly.

Some other, more detailed thoughts:

http://sheldonbrown.com/pain.html#posture

·
Registered
3,431 Posts
concentrate on paying attention to your general posture and tension as danl1 said. Also, periodically, just think about briefly loosening your neck, shrugging, wiggling, and relaxing your shoulders and back, flexing/unflexing your arms, etc. Unless you're racing, just sit up a bit, move all movable parts, actually think about relaxing and easing tension. Also, change positions on the bars regularly, maybe even frequently. Sit up and put your hands on the tops. Go to the hoods, go do the drops, etc. etc.