Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the sport and I've been training for a Tri. This is my 3rd week with my new Specialized Allez (White one much sexier than the black:) ). I love the bike. Unfortunately I've been having some issues with chaffing between my legs. Only on my right thigh. Basically where my thigh meets the pelvis/balls area (sorry didn't know how to say it nicely). I'm using the stock seat (I've had no sit bone issues with it) and after about 8-10 miles I start to feel a little heat between my legs and around 12 miles it starts to become uncomfortable.

I'm planning on upgrading the seat but I'm not at home (North of Chicago) where there are several good bike shops and I haven't really liked the two in Champaign where I got to school, kinda feel like they have no clue what they're talking about or just don't care because I'm just another college kid in a college town.

I'm using an odd set up for the shorts and this might be where the problem is coming from. I'm using a pair of Pearl Izumi 3d race liners (picked them up about 2 years ago basically new) with an Under Armour compression short over the top. The 1st time I used this set up was 2 rides ago and it was perfect no chaffing really comfortable.

Today I went on a 17 mile ride and was really uncomfortable. It was about 85 and very humid outside and I was quite warm and sweating. I was also experimenting with moving my seat back a little bit and found that to be uncomfortable so 1/2 way through the ride I adjusted it forward and that fixed that problem and it seemed like the rubbing got better 2.

Sorry for the really long post but I'm just looking for some advice. I love cycling and I just want to get everything right comfort wise :( .

Thanks in advance to everyone,
Aleks

·
Registered
151 Posts