Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
349 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am fairly new to road riding and was wondering what the life expectance of a chain? I have 1100 miles in 2 months on a brand new bike. I just did a 62 mile charity ride which it rained for the 3 hours. I have another big ride this coming weekend 120 miles and want to make sure my bike is running smoothly!

Is there a mile marker people go by when determining chain life or just check the chain stretch?

Cheers

· Super Moderator
41,456 Posts
lucky13 said:
I am fairly new to road riding and was wondering what the life expectance of a chain? I have 1100 miles in 2 months on a brand new bike. I just did a 62 mile charity ride which it rained for the 3 hours. I have another big ride this coming weekend 120 miles and want to make sure my bike is running smoothly!

Is there a mile marker people go by when determining chain life or just check the chain stretch?

Cheers
It really depends on where you ride, how often you clean and lube the chain, ride in the rain, etc. Some around here claim 3,500mi. on one, others are done after a third of that. And some folks just like to change their chains a bit more frequently.

To check whether your chain has worn to the point of changing it, you can get little tools that gauge it, or take an ordinary ruler (steel ones are great for this), and measure from the center of one pin to a pin 12 inches away; it should measure exactly 12 inches when brand new. After some time, the wear on the pins is enough to cause that measure to be a bit, say 1/16", more than 12 inches, and you consider chain replacement.

Water isn't so particularly hard on chains, except that it washes away your lubricant, and rain usually causes your chain to pick up a lot of road grit, which is particularly hard on chains, so after a rainy ride, clean/lube your chain (search here on "chain cleaning" will give you more than ample advice.)

· Two scoops of inertia.