Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings,

I am in need of replacement chain recommendations for a Campagnolo 2008 Chorus Ultra-Drive 10 Speed Cassette 12-25 with Centaur RD to Veloce FD.

I'm a Campy rookie on a learning curve and have read a number of older posts (2006 year+/-) of people recommending SRAM or Ultegra 9 Speed chains. Curious if this is still the consensus? Or, have the Campy chains improved in recent years to the point I should just stick with them? My primary concerns are smooth shifting with a reasonable price tag (ie I don't feel obligated to spend the $$$ if not warranted)

Thanks
Kenreau

·
Registered
7,934 Posts
KMC, KMC, KMC....period.

·
Registered
589 Posts
i've used KMC and SRAM. They both work fine. If you use Campy or shimano, get a SRAM connecting link. It's cheaper and more reliable than those special piins.

em

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
eddie m said:
i've used KMC and SRAM. They both work fine. If you use Campy or shimano, get a SRAM connecting link. It's cheaper and more reliable than those special piins.

em
Thanks guys!

What am I missing? - I don't see any information regarding KMC chains. Nothing in the Product Reviews or Manufacturers index. Also, for my 10 speed cassette set up, any particular model, width, etc. to look for?

Thanks again
Kenreau

·
Get me to In&Out
4,775 Posts
For the quietest drivetrain, stick with campy. With the powerlink, it still isn't as quiet as with just campy. How many of us really take the chain off to need the powerlink? Just saying...I would get a chorus chain.

·
Registered
589 Posts
spookyload said:
For the quietest drivetrain, stick with campy. With the powerlink, it still isn't as quiet as with just campy. How many of us really take the chain off to need the powerlink? Just saying...I would get a chorus chain.