Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, here is my problem. I am more of a mountain biker, but bought myself a second-hand 2003 cannondale R700 a few weeks ago to do a bit of road riding during the muddy winter here in the UK. I have only been out on it a few of times and everything was fine, but the chain started skipping this weekend. First of all it was just skipping on the the second highest sprocket down to the third, but was fine everywhere else. I have a lot of experience with MTBs, so I checked that the cables weren't sticking and adjusted the cable tension. Also made sure that the cable was seated properly at the point where it clamps on to the derailleur. I thought that maybe the rear mech hanger could have been bent slightly, so I gave it a tug and it looks straight to me and adjusted the cable slightly. Now it is skipping at the bottom end of the cassette (the small sprockets), but not at the top end! It has 9-speed 105 components and they really don't seem to have much wear on them. Any suggestions??

Shame about Pantani!!

·
The Edge
205 Posts
You sound to have a classic case of chain stretch with a worn cassette. The chain the the cassette wear together on the most used cogs, that's why some of the cogs (usually close to each other) shift fine with the chain and the others (like the lower tooth count cogs usually) don't. My advice would be to get a second opinion at a shop where they can quantify your chain stretch and give you a hard fast answer on whether you'll need a new chain or a new chain and cassette. All in all, after 45 bucks you're bike will shift like magic again.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·