Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a fairly new rider and I've gone through the progression of wearing cargo shorts, to basketball shorts, to real road bike shorts. As my miles and time on the bike increase, I have found the need for a chamois creme. I purchased a tube of chamois buttr and used it last weekend for a three hour ride. I like it! Never before has my butt felt such comfort on a long ride. The thing I am having trouble with is how long it lasts and what the guy at the LBS told me to do about it. It seems to last about two hours, and the guy told me that he sells individual packets of the buttr as many riders will take it with them on a long ride to re-apply.

Re-apply!!??

My question is, do any of you really re-apply your buttr while on the road? I'm new to the whole thing and just got used to wearing my road bike shorts out in public. But the idea of reaching down my shorts with a hand full of lotion to lube up while out in public is a little much for me. How do you guys handle this situation?

·
Shirtcocker
60,886 Posts
Timma said:
I'm a fairly new rider and I've gone through the progression of wearing cargo shorts, to basketball shorts, to real road bike shorts. As my miles and time on the bike increase, I have found the need for a chamois creme. I purchased a tube of chamois buttr and used it last weekend for a three hour ride. I like it! Never before has my butt felt such comfort on a long ride. The thing I am having trouble with is how long it lasts and what the guy at the LBS told me to do about it. It seems to last about two hours, and the guy told me that he sells individual packets of the buttr as many riders will take it with them on a long ride to re-apply.

Re-apply!!??