Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding for the past 5+ years. I have a 2009 Giant Cypress and I'm averaging 3,000 mile per year. I try to remove, clean and oil my chain every 200 miles. I ride country black top roads in southern Indiana with what I would call moderate hills. I changed my chain and rear cassette both at 6,000 miles and I'm now on 16,000 miles. I check last week before cleaning the chain and I measured 1/8 inch stretch at 12 inches. At that time I changed to a new chain, but did not have a new cassette to replace the old one with. Once I changed out the chain, it started skipping/jumping when I was in the 4th or 5th rear cog. I switched back to the old chain and the skipping stopped. I now have a new rear cassette and plan to switch both the chain and cassette tonight. So it would appear to me that the chain and rear cassette had both worn so much that when I changed only the chain, that caused the new chain to skip on the rear cassette. Does this make sense? Also, should I be concerned about the front chain ring (three gears)? Sorry for the long post and thanks for any advice. Jay

·
'brifter' is f'ing stupid
15,564 Posts